Brisbane Water Secondary College Umina Campus logo

Brisbane Water Secondary College Umina Campus

Brisbane Water Secondary College Umina Campus

Respect - Commitment - Relationships

Telephone02 4341 9066

Our staff

Get to know our school staff. We're all here to help.

Our professional, university-educated teachers encourage students to develop a love of learning and a desire to succeed. They maintain the highest integrity and concern for your child’s wellbeing.

The principal is responsible for the educational leadership and management of our school. If you would like to speak to the principal, please contact us to make an appointment.

Our school administrative staff can answer inquiries or direct you to the appropriate staff member for help.


Ms Kerrie O'Heir

Deputy Principals


Mr Damian Purins - Year 7

Ms Susannah Murray - Year 8

Mr Ash Jackson - Year 9

Head Teacher Wellbeing

Ms Ruth Brown

Head Teacher Transition and Community Engagement 

Ms Jessie Heighington

Head Teacher Administration

Mr Roman Myszkowski Rel.


Middle School Model 

Our challenge has been to devise a structure that would address the needs of a 7-9 middle school with an intake of over 300 students in each year so that teachers would still know the students well despite the large numbers.

The traditional head teacher / faculty structure was not necessarily the most appropriate for the changing needs of the school.

Our model enables our teachers to develop closer understanding of the needs of students whom they teach than a traditional model.

The faculty base system of discipline of all classes by individual subject Head Teachers can result in duplication of effort with reduced impact. The same students may be seen numerous times a day by several head teachers with limited effect.

The capacity to plan and deliver curriculum from a cross faculty perspective would be better facilitated by a teams structure.


Middle School Teaching Teams

  • Our school is divided into 9 Teaching and Learning Teams 
  • Students will be placed into a class that belongs to a Team
  • A Team Leader is in charge of each team
  • Each team has Assistant Team Leaders in charge of Student Welfare
  • Each Team has its own allocated area within a purpose built staffroom
  • Team teachers teach the same Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9 classes and work together in dealing with issues and rewarding students
  • Team 6 encompasses our Year 7 & 8 Enrichment classes

Team Leaders and Assistant Team Leaders are the first point of contact for parents with any concerns


Team 1

Team Leader - Mr J Blanch

Assistant Team Leader - Ms A Maxwell

Assistant Team Leader - Ms A Ward

Team 2

Team Leader - Ms C Briggs

Assistant Team Leader - Mr D Stevenson

Assistant Team Leader - Ms D Stocker

Team 3

Team Leader - Mr D Staszak

Assistant Team Leader - Ms A Mason

Assistant Team Leader - Mr K Meisel

Team 4

Team Leader - Mr J Phillips

Assistant Team Leader - Mr A Westerhof

Assistant Team Leader - Ms E Golding

Team 5

Team Leader - Mr N Shoaib

Assistant Team Leader - Ms S Barnett

Assistant Team Leader - Ms K Fahey

Team 6

Team Leader - Ms D Hillman

Assistant Team Leader - Ms K Evans

Team 7

Team Leader - Mr M Dixon

Assistant Team Leader - Ms L Sullivan

Assistant Team Leader - Mr J Ford

Team 8 CROFT

Team Leader - Ms E Robertson

Assistant Team Leader - Mr T Walker



Team Leader - Mr M O'Keefe

Assistant Team Leader - Ms K Price